Lake Street Dive Goes Down Smooth

I first heard of Lake Street Dive when they did a live set on NPR’s World Cafe last year.  I was driving home from work when I caught the beginning of their interview and the first song.  My ears instantly perked up at their harmonies and unique sound.  As soon as I got home, I ran from my car and quickly flipped the radio on to catch the rest of their performance.  I was an instant fan.

Lake Street Dive is a jazz-pop quartet featuring Rachael Price on lead vocals, Bridget Kearney on upright bass, Mike “McDuck” Olson on trumpet and guitar, and Mike Calabrese on drums.  The four met while they were all studying jazz at the New England Conservatory of Music.  Now, as Lake Street Dive, their style ranges from jazz to pop to folk, from ’60s soul to rock-and-roll.

The band came to prominence when their cover version of The Jackson 5‘s “I Want You Back” went viral.  And deservedly so!  Have a listen:

From there, the band booked several televised gigs on late night talk shows, as well as being asked to participate in the T Bone Burnett-curated concert, “Another Day, Another Time: Celebrating the Music of Inside Llewyn Davis.”

When I get into certain bands, I will put them into rotation on a constant loop for weeks, or even months.  Lake Street Dive has received continuous play from the first time I heard them last year.  They are truly fantastic musicians!

Go check out their newest album Bad Self Portraits, a compilation of cover songs called Fun Machine, or their self-titled release.  Better yet, give all three a listen.  I promise you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

