O is for…

I grew up as quite a voracious reader, but have since fallen rather behind in my reading list. There are so many authors and books that I haven’t gotten to.  That’s not to say that I don’t hoard titles from the discount bookstore.  I am constantly picking things up, adding them to my ever-growing “To Read” pile.  In honor of the A-to-Z Challenge, I decided to read one of these books: John Scalzi’s Hugo Award-nominated, military sci-fi, debut novel.

O is for Old Man’s War.

At least… It should’ve been.  That’s the post that I had scheduled for today.  But as things stand, I… I actually haven’t finished the book yet. Which would’ve been fine if I hadn’t mentioned it before. I don’t have a theme for this year’s A-to-Z Challenge, so I could’ve easily switched to another topic without anyone noticing.

But no…

“After that, I got some reading in before bed time (As to the book’s title, I’ll tell you this much: look for my review when we get to the letter O…).”

-from E is for Easter Monday

Classic.

I was so sure that I could start and finish a book amidst all this blog writing.

O is for overly optimistic.  Or perhaps, O is for overzealous.

I was so excited, you guys.  Excited to participate in the A-to-Z Challenge and dive head first into blogging.  But you know what?  Blogging every day is hard.

That’s not to say that I have found the Challenge onerous; no, no.  It has been super fun thus far!  But other things came up in the last few days and ate up the time I should have spent finishing Old Man’s War.

Listed here are those obstacles in order of occurrence:

  1. This past Saturday was International Tabletop Day!!  I hope you geeks and gamers had a fun time.  I was able to get together with a few folks on Saturday evening.  Most of them are fairly new to the board game scene, so we stuck with several familiar games such as Fluxx, Sequence, and Balderdash.  I was, however, able to teach them how to play Escape: Curse of the Temple, which they really enjoyed.  On the whole, it was a night of light games, but heavy on laughter and fun.
  2. I developed a slight cold from Friday onwards, and after church on Sunday, it hit hard.  I was bed-ridden from Sunday afternoon through Monday.  My sinuses ached, my head was full of mucus, and my body insisted on attempting to cough up a lung.  It was all pretty terrible, and I’m still getting over it.  But on the bright side, having the day off from work left me some time for…
  3. Marvel’s Daredevil!  The hype is real, you guys.  Netflix’s entrée into the Marvel Cinematic Universe is fantastic.  The pacing is great, there are wonderful performances by the actors, and the cinematography/direction is superb.  A word of caution to those who have not yet watched, however — Daredevil is extremely dark and violent.  I’m ordinarily not too bothered by that stuff, but, wow, there are some really intense moments!
  4. Like all other obedient Americans, I had to work on filing my taxes this week.  Nothing exciting to note here.  Let’s move on…
  5. Once I started to feel a little bit better, you would think that I would have spent my time wisely.  Maybe I could have, oh, I don’t know… finished reading the book I was supposed to blog about?  Of course not!  It was beautiful outside and my health had improved.  So, naturally, I spent my time playing Ingress.  (I have reached Level 7 now, so there is that, I suppose.)

And those, dear reader, are the reasons why you are not currently reading a review of John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War.  After the A-to-Z Challenge is over and things have calmed down a bit, I will definitely post my thoughts on the book.  But right now, I guess I’m just sorry for this missed opportunity.

O is for Oops!

9 thoughts on “O is for…

  1. This is our second year doing the challenge, and it’s definitely been easier because of it. But blogging every day is hard, for sure. I’ve seen some bloggers burn out after it and stop blogging altogether. However, you’ll have gotten new followers now who enjoy your work. That means May is a good time to think about a realistic blogging schedule, lay it out for people, and start writing some more “normal” blog posts. People will read them 🙂

    Also, I’ll mention that doing an A to Z Reflection post is a thing, and a good place to start after April – and a good place to lay down what you’re thinking for a schedule moving forward!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Happy to help! And catching up it looks like you’ve fallen a bit behind… hopefully the weekend helps a bit with that 🙂

        The reflection posts are definitely a thing, and it even looks like there will be an official place to share links to it on the A to Z website? Looks like there was last year. It’s good to debrief, take a breath, and remember to slow back down after doing this!

        My wife and I were very firm on wanting to pick a realistic schedule, and sticking to it. We started at 6 posts a week, with a day off. When life got a little busier this last fall, we dropped that to 5 a week, with Friday being a shorter “fun” post. But that’s a schedule of two people blogging – but we’ve kept it going! A lot of blogs do pretty well posting only a couple of times a week, and you see features where people are doing the same thing on the same day every week – photos or top ten lists or all sorts of things. But setting a realistic goal, then following it, is the good way for a blog to progress 🙂 Blog-followers tend to be following many blogs, but they can know when/what to expect when checking back with you!

        Unless they’re like me, in which case, they don’t read many blogs at all… have been pushing myself this A to Z! Although, I have social media to blame for some of the not-reading…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A couple months ago I was talking on the phone with one of my best friends and her husband, and they recommended a Scalzi book to me, but I couldn’t remember what it was for the life of me. It was Old Man’s War! Haha! So thank you for mentioning it so that I can finally add it to my Goodreads “to read” list for the future 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

