I am…

I am a nerd.  I am a geek.  I’m a fangirl and a dreamer.

For this, I blame my father.  I blame him for reading The Hobbit and Frank Peretti’s Cooper Kids series to me and my older sister before bedtime, feeding our dreams — the gateway to imagination.  It was he who built us treehouses and elaborate blanket forts.  He equipped me with a wooden bow and arrows tipped with the plastic pump needles used to inflate basketballs so I could pretend to be Robin Hood.  He was the one who fostered my love of movies, introducing me to the Star Wars trilogy and to Indiana Jones.

I am a nerd.  I am a geek.  I’m a fangirl and a dreamer.

For this, I blame my mother.  I blame her love of reading, a seemingly contagious affliction, which I inherited from her at a young age.  It was she who took me to the library and encouraged me to try books that many saw as “too advanced” for my age.  She was the one who became my first proofreader when I tried my hand at creating my own stories.  She instilled in me the importance of knowledge, and assured me that it was good, cool even, to be smart.

I am a nerd.  I am a geek.  I’m a fangirl and a dreamer.

For this, I blame my older sister.  I blame her for being my role model, my first best friend.  I blame her for her interest in fascinating things like biology and Ancient Egypt, and for allowing me to tag along (as younger siblings are wont to do).  Together we formed a detective agency, recreated a mummy’s tomb, and fought with lightsabers made with balloons and toilet paper tubes.  She would read my stories; I would act in her plays.

I am a nerd.  I am a geek.  I’m a fangirl and a dreamer.

For this, I blame my younger brother.  I blame him for being the wide-eyed innocent to his sisters’ crazy schemes — a virtue I, in some way, internalized; and now I find him popping into my mind’s eye as the intended audience to all of my stories.  I blame him for growing up and spending entire weekends playing board games, music, and video games with me.  His extroverted, mathsy left-hemisphere brain compliments my shy, creative right-brain oh so well.  My opposite in practically every way, he pushes me to be more than I am, to be better.

I am a nerd.  I am a geek.  I’m a fangirl and a dreamer.

For this, I blame you, my hypothetical reader.  I blame you for inspiring me to create, critique, indulge in, and interact with culture.  I blame you for loving things, and for sharing that love with others.  That’s what being a geek is all about.

And so, to my family, my friends, my blog readers: I blame you for it all.  It’s your fault that I am…

…a nerd.

…a geek.

…a fangirl.

…a dreamer.

And for this, I am eternally grateful.  Thank you.  Thank you all, from the bottom of my nerdy, geeky, fangirling, ever-dreaming soul.

7 thoughts on “I am…

  1. I blame my parents for paying me a-penny-a-page for every book I read, they nearly went broke when the Harry Potter books got big. I blame my cousin for getting me into Final Fantasy X and Kingdom Hearts. I blame the creators who made me this way: JK Rowling, Joss Whedon, Felicia Day, and George RR Martin, among many others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The penny-per-page thing is adorable and ingenious parenting; though I would’ve probably bankrupted my family as well 🙂 Great list of creators! I also blame/thank people like Joss, Felicia, and GRRM — not only for their work (Firefly, The Guild, ASOIAF, etc.), but for the inspiration to be a creator myself. Thanks for sharing!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, this is a little bit of fabulous. Love the way you move from person to person and finally to your readers. This graphic was going around awhile back that mapped the border between Nerdom and Geekdom. I decided I was either a nerdy geek or a geeky nerd, LOL.

    Thanks for joining the #geekpasticheblog party! I’m surfing around visiting all the posts and collecting links today.

    Gene’O
    Instigator-in-Chief at Sourcererblog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

